Wonder Review

Wonder Review

Hey! Wonder by R.J. Palacio is a young adults novel about a boy called August facing life with facial abnormalities. He had a rough start at life with many surgeries and therapy sessions.

The stories surrounding August’ first year or ‘real’ school, previously being home schooled, is written the first person perspective from many character’s within the story.

Some of my favourite quotes from the book are:

  • If I found a magic lamp and I could have one wish, I would wish that I had a normal face that no one ever noticed at all. I would wish that I could walk down the street without people seeing me and then doing that look-away thing.
  • I was so nervous that the butterflies in my stomach were more like pigeons flying around my insides.
  • When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind.
  •  Your deeds are your monuments. —inscription on an Egyptian tomb
  • Do all the good you can, By all the means you can, In all the ways you can, In all the places you can, At all the times you can, To all the people you can, As long as you ever can.
  • Everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their life because we all overcometh the world.
  • Anyway, it’s not that I care that people react to me. Like I’ve said a gazillion times: I’m used to that by now. I don’t let it bother me. It’s like when you go outside and it’s drizzling a little. You don’t put on boots for a drizzle. You don’t even open your umbrella. You walk through it and barely notice your hair getting wet. But when it’s a huge gym full of parents, the drizzle becomes like this total hurricane. Everyone’s eyes hit you like a wall of water.
  • Now that I look back, I don’t know why I was so stressed about it all this time. Funny how sometimes you worry a lot about something and it turns out to be nothing.
  • in the future you make for yourselves, anything is possible. If every single person in this room made it a rule that wherever you are, whenever you can, you will try to act a little kinder than is necessary— the world really would be a better place. And if you do this, if you act just a little kinder than is necessary, someone else, somewhere, someday, may recognize in you, in every single one of you, the face of God.”
Leave a Reply

