The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender Review

The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender Review

Hey! The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender is a hard-boiled crime fiction novel by Marele Day. Unlike its counterparts, the novel depicts the great ability of females in male-dominated roles.

The main themes from the novel include: the impact of technology, corruption, role of women, legacy, immortality, power, the moral decay of society and facades. I would recommend this for those over the age of 16 as there are horror scenes.

My favourite quotes from the novel are:

  • Live fast, die young, and leave a good-looking corpse” (Page 22)
  • “The foyer was a large open plan affair with lounge chairs specifically designed for fat cats” (Page 4)
  • “I don’t carry a gun like some of my cowboy colleagues.” (Page 30)
  • My legs are my best weapon. If I’m close enough I can do a karate kick that knocks them flat. If I’m far enough away I run.” (Page 30)
  • “There’s more than one way to skin a cat and most of the time it’s not necessary to skin it. People tend to talk more, be open with a woman, less guarded, less wary.” (Page 31)

 

Leave a Reply

