Diary of Anne Frank: Review

Diary of Anne Frank: Review

anneAnne Frank: The Diary of a Young girl was a beautiful book about the thoughts and experiences of a teenage Jewish girl in hiding during World War II. I would recommend this book to girls no younger than 14 because of a little bit of talk about puberty and such and also because of some of the horrible things that she saw and heard.

I personally have an interest in World War II and this book was no exception. Very insightful and inspired me to one day visit the museum.

Beautiful!

 

 

 

 

star-xxlstar-xxlstar-xxlstar-xxlstar-xxl

 

My Favourite Quotes

  • “‘Paper has more patience than people.’”
  • “Now I’m back to the point that prompted me to keep a diary in the first place: I don’t have a friend. Let me put it more clearly, since no one will believe that a thirteen-year-old girl is completely alone in the world. And I’m not.”
  • “No, on the surface I seem to have everything, except my one true friend.”
  • “My parents are pleased, but they’re not like other parents when it comes to grades. They never worry about reports, good or bad. As long as I’m healthy and happy and not too cheeky, they’re satisfied. If these three things are all right, everything else will take care of itself.”
  • “I’d like to say this: I think it’s odd that grown-ups quarrel so easily and so often and about such petty matters. Up till now I always thought bickering was just something children did and that they outgrew it. Of course, there’s sometimes a reason to have a ‘real’ quarrel, but the verbal exchanges that take place here are just plain bickering. I should be used to the fact that these squabbles are daily occurrences, but I’m not and never will be.”
  • “Everyone thinks I’m showing off when I talk, ridiculous when I’m silent, insolent when I answer, cunning when I have a good idea, lazy when I’m tired, selfish when I eat one bite more than I should, stupid, cowardly, calculating, etc., etc. All day long I hear nothing but what an exasperating child I am, and although I laugh it off and pretend not to mind, I do mind. I wish I could ask God to give me another personality, one that doesn’t antagonize everyone.”
  • “My own thoughts give me nightmares!”
  • “So much comes into my head at night when I’m alone, or during the day when I’m obliged to put up with people I can’t abide or who invariably misinterpret my intentions. That’s why I always come back to my diary – I start there and end there because Kitty’s always patient. I promise her that, despite everything, I’ll keep going, that I’ll find my own way and choke back my tears. I only wish I could see some results or, just once, receive encouragement from someone who loves me.”
  • “You can be lonely even when you’re loved by many people, since you’re still not anybody’s ‘one and only’.”
  • “in spite of everything, I still don’t have enough faith in God. He’s given me so much, which I don’t deserve, and yet each day I make so many mistakes!”
  • “I have an intense need to be alone. Father has noticed I’m not my usual self, but I can’t tell him what’s bothering me. All I want to do is scream ‘Let me be, leave me alone!’ Who knows, perhaps the day will come when I’m left alone more than I’d like!”
  • “The world will keep on turning without me, and I can’t do anything to change events anyway. I’ll just let matters take their course and concentrate on studying and hope that everything will be all right in the end.”
  • “The best remedy for those who are frightened, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere they can be alone, alone with the sky, nature and God. For then and only then can you feel that everything is as it should be and that God wants people to be happy amid nature’s beauty and simplicity.”
  • “It’s not just my imagination – looking at the sky, the clouds, the moon and the stars really does make me feel calm and hopeful. It’s much better medicine than valerian or bromide. Nature makes me feel humble and ready to face every blow with courage!”

 

For more book reviews like this, click here!

xxx

signature_ry87xlg1ahwi70szvr

Leave a Reply

